Category: Uncategorized

Albemarle Dems 2024-2025 Leadership

The Albemarle County Democratic Party recently elected a new Chair for 2024-2025 as well as new Officers and District chairs. Thank you to all for serving.

Chair: Bruce Kirtley
Vice-Chair: Kristin Breen
Secretary: Michael Rodemeyer
Treasurer: Al Dessertine
Parliamentarian: Herb Stewart
Counsel/Voter Protection Coordinator: Laurie Jones
Vice-Chair, Outreach: Graham Paige
Vice-Chair, Finance: Rebecca Deeds
Vice-Chair, Communications: Kristin Breen
Immediate Past Chair: Karen Combs

Rivanna District Co-Chairs: Stephanie Lowenhaupt, Kathe Falzer
White Hall District Co-chairs: Jim Pyles, Atieno Bird
Samuel Miller District Co-chairs: Madison Cummings, Tim Hickey
Rio District Co-Chairs: Nathan Moore, Kate Scales, Betsey Soulsby
Scottsville District Co-Chairs: Lili Bennett, Rodney Beard
Jack Jouett District Chair: David Shreve


The Albemarle County Democratic Committee, herein referred to as the Committee, will hold an assembled caucus on Tuesday, December 5, 2023 in the Lane Auditorium of the County Office Building at 401 McIntire Road, Charlottesville, Virginia, from 5:30 to 7:30 PM, for the purpose of electing the new membership of the Committee for a two-year term (2024-2025) pursuant to the Democratic Party of Virginia Party Plan.

For more information, go to


A Big THANK YOU to our 2023 BBQ Sponors!

Thank you to our 2023 BBQ Sponsors!

Senator Creigh Deeds

James Andrews
Larry DeNeveu
Gwen Goodkin

Ellen & Bob Beard
Katrina Callsen for Delegate
Barbara Fried
Bea LaPisto Kirtley
Ann Mallek

Rebecca Berlin for School Board
Lettie Bien & David Schmitt
Richard Brewer
Pat & Madison Cummings

Stephen Davis
Anne & Al Dessertine

Elect Allison Spillman for School Board
Christine Fleckles
Beth & Tim Hickey
Jim Hingeley

Carol & David Hogg
Bonnie & Bruce Kirtley
Gail Kitch
Steve Koleszar
George Leaman

Judy Le
Bill Love
Dianne Martin & Rich Olin
Lonnie Murray & Sharon Snyder
Cynthia Neff
Wren & Thomas Olivier
Judy Rasmussen
Michael Rodemeyer & Dorit Green
Linda & Rick Seaman
Marjorie & John Shepard
Sally Thomas in memory of George Thomas
Lynda White
Mary Ellen & Richard Williams
Cindy & John Zug

Ahmet Argon
James Taylor Beard
Brie Breland
Charlotte & Ralph Dammann

Sara & Charles Dassance
Jane Davis
Joan Fenton
Anne Geraty

Charlotte Gibson
Janice Mills & Sylvia Hallock
Mittie & Will Harvey
Jim Heilman
Mary Buford Hitz
Graham Paige

Rebekah & Elon Plotkin
Donna Price

Michael Pruitt
Jim Pyles
Christopher Seaman
Becky Williams & Liz Browne

Teresa & Wayne Willis

Save the Date: 34th Annual BBQ and Fundraiser

Please join us for our 34th annual Democratic BBQ on Sunday, October 1 from 3-6 pm! Join local elected officials and meet 2023 candidates. Family-friendly event with music.

Tickets are $25 in advance, $30 at the door. $10 for students. Kids under 6 are free. You can purchase ONLINE or by check to P.O. Box 5698, Charlottesville, VA 22905.

To limit our environmental impact, please bring your own plates and utensils if possible.

Sponsorships available:

  • Donor: $150 – includes 2 BBQ & 2 drink tickets
  • Friend: $250 – includes 2 BBQ & 4 drink tickets
  • Supporter: $500 – includes 2 BBQ & 6 drink tickets
  • Patron: $1,000 – includes 4 BBQ & 8 drink tickets
  • Host: $2,500 – includes 6 BBQ & 12 drink tickets

Join us for a great time with your Democratic neighbors and candidates!